February 11, 2021

Continuing to create a video about Davinci Resolve

On January 13, I started making a fan video about Davinci Resolve.
During this month, I wrote a lot of places, talked to a lot of people, about what associations you have with the program, you all helped me a lot, for which you a BIG THANK YOU.

I did a preliminary draft of my paper a couple of weeks ago, there's an article about that in my teletype as well. At that stage I had only partial animations and no fill in as 3D models. Now the video has changed a lot, but about this later.

My path to the current state has undergone a lot of changes. At times, I not only changed part of the scene or animation, but completely threw out 2-3 seconds and created something new from scratch. Given that the entire clip lasts less than 20 seconds, it's very difficult to replace 10-20% of the material. In some other conditions, I, like many, could simply give up at the first difficulties, because this is not a commercial project, it's just an attempt to learn how to create cool things for their own development. At this point, I have learned an important thing that whatever difficulties may be in the work, only persistence can solve them.

At the very beginning, when you have a blank sheet of ideas and developments in front of you, it's easier to start than to correct mistakes...
Mistakes are what demotivates you. You spend 10 hours on 1 second of animation and it's not what you want or doesn't look like in whole video. These are the moments when many people put off solving a problem, and then just don't come back to it. You shouldn't do that, you should do it, do it and redo it.

Kill the perfectionist in you, it gets in your way. Instead of really trying, we often think that if there's not going to be a super-duper result, it's not worth starting. But, it doesn't work that way. Without trial and error, you can't learn to do well. So, it's worth trying to do anything that interests you.

My work now at a stage where I fill the scene with 3D objects and add at least approximately a color palette and not complicated textures.

One such example
1


2


3 (there's a lot of work with textures and light).


Initial blocking (this is what it's called). It is needed in order to evaluate the overall composition of the scene and to imagine what and where it is located. When each scene is made of primitive objects (a ball, a square) we can do animation and transitions between scenes. At this stage (blocking) we see the movie as it will be when, primitives are replaced by full 3D objects + light textures...

Here is another example of before and after.


Here I would like to show the official site BlackMagic at the end of the clip, but the initial composition I did not like and I changed to this version for now.
1


2

3


And how not to mention the Great Artist the program is named after.

I will not show you all the scenes, of course, for it would be interesting to watch the reel.
Have a nice day, another report in a couple of weeks.