January 31, 2023

Ali Alchall

Instagram: @officialbagface

Date: September 2022

What is your story of fascination with football?

One of my earlier memories as a kid was kicking a football around with the other kids in my area, so you could say I’ve been obsessed with the beautiful game for quite sometime now. And as you grow older you start to take more interest in the tactical side of the game. I love the fact that such a simple game, that anyone can pick up in their spare time and learn, can be so complex and so detailed at the highest level. The variety of approaches and cultures that different teams bring to the table are just fascinating, but if you want me to describe my love for the game with the most simple of terms, it’s that pure ecstasy you feel when the ball hits the back of net, or the absolute agony you’re in when you lose a special derby. Just like everything in life it’s the highs and lows that make something feel special.


Do you create football art professionally or is it a hobby?

At the moment, I create football art as a hobby but would love to make it a profession in the future.

What football event or story has made an unforgettable impression on you?

As a Liverpool fan, I think there are two answers to this question. I was 8 years old when the miracle of Istanbul happened so I vaguely remember watching it, but the amount of times I rewatched extended highlights and replays of that final is just ludicrous, so it’s pretty ingrained in my mind. The other match came at a time where I was much more mature and had a better understanding of the game. That unforgettable comeback vs Barcelona in the semi final of the Champions League in 2019. Specifically that 4th goal, probably the most iconic corner we’ll ever witness in world football. I was in absolute disbelief when Divock Origi connected sweetly with Trent Alexander-Arnold’s rushed cross. I was genuinely laughing for a couple of minutes, just absolutely baffled by what I had just witnessed.


Do you attend the stadium, and if so, which team’s matches do you try to get to?

Unfortunately, living in a country like Lebanon doesn’t help with attending local matches. Almost all teams are affiliated with different political parties and I find that to be a complete turn off. Blatant corruption and politics in football are just a big no no for me so, no, I don’t attend any stadiums locally.

What are your interests besides football and art?

Just like with football, I’ve been obsessed with Music for ever since I can remember. I listen to a variety of genres but my favorites would be Rap/HipHop, Classic Rock and Modern Indie. I also love anything that’s film related. I took a course in Uni that teaches you the ins and outs of creating a film, so that sparked my interest in it even more. I find that films are very similar to artworks. Each shot in a film is like a painting, in a sense that it is a grand composition with many elements, some detailed and some not, working harmoniously to create a stunning picture.


Could you highlight a few of your works that make you especially proud and explain why?

First up is this poster I did of the iconic Azteca ball from the world cup in ‘86. I feel like the patterns on the ball and the patterns in the background work well together in a harmonious manner.

Second, is this illustration I did of Liverpool’s famous ecru kit from the 96-97 season. I love illustrating football kits and I recently got my hands on this kit, so it made it extra special.

Third, is this portrait illustration of Batigol. I think it’s one of my best portraits in terms likeness and I had so much fun working on the kit with the background.

And lastly is an illustration of Liverpool’s new striker where I tried a much more simple and minimalistic style, and I think it turned out pretty neat.


Who are your favourite football artists?

There are so many that I can name but these are my absolute favorites.

@danleydon

@marinoff_

@artbyyoniw

@liambatesillustration

@brady.ink

@3032.fc

@ronny.heimann

These are the football artists that I admire the most and learn the most from.