January 11

Barry Pirovano

Instagram: @barrypirovano

Date: September 2022

What is your story of fascination with football?

Don’t know, it’s — like the Dutch say — «poured in with the spoon» (met de paplepel ingegoten): my mum and dad were watching football all the time, travelled to foreign countries to check games, so me and my brother got infected with it. Can’t remember a time without watching the game.


Do you create football art professionally or is it a hobby?

Started as a hobby, but it’s my job now. Still feels like a hobby though.

What football event or story has made an unforgettable impression on you?

The first match I remembered consciously was Holland missing the World Cup ’86 against Belgium. Kieft headbutted Vercauteren, and we lost with ten against the Red Devils. After that I remember watching France against Brazil on World Cup ’86. And the final. My dad hoped for the Germans, my little brother and I for the Argentinians. Besides that I got so much unforgettable impressions. The comeback of Holland against Brazil in 2010 is still of my all time high feelings.

Visiting Bayern München in 2010, drinking beer in the players home and Bayern players like Lahm introducing themselves to us instead of the other way around was also funny to experience. or the book presentation with loads of food (sushi boats!), drink, music and the entire Dutch national team. This frigging hobby get’s you in places you didn’t expect before.

But the most unforgettable is still coming: Holland winning the World Cup.


Do you attend the stadium, and if so, which team’s matches do you try to get to?

Dutch Eredivisie and international games of several teams and several leagues. I like the tension of international games the most. It’s the most magical to reach far. Busy with family life also, so I don’t travel that much.

What are your interests besides football and art?

Hiphop


Could you highlight a few of your works that make you especially proud and explain why?

Pride is not the thing I pursue. I think it kind of makes you stand still. Don’t look back, but ahead! I see it more as funny.

Shit like an exposition near the Kremlin around World Cup ’18 in Russia,

or hand over an artwork to Frenkie de Jong on behalf of Ajax,

or designing the official Dutch league ball (Eredivisie) this year.


Who are your favourite football artists?

Martín Kazanietz (insta @gordopelota), Arley Byrne (insta @_yelradoodles), Floor Wesseling (@bloodin_blood0ut), and more basketball but hey.. Tyler Upchurch (_tylerupchurch).