May 8, 2023

Enrique Seemann

Instagram: @iamkikin

Date: September 2022

What is your story of fascination with football?

I pretty much fell in love with the game when I was 9 years old. My closest friends at the time were obsessed with Pumas UNAM, a local team that soon became my team. They happened to be the best team at the time, managed by none other than probably the best Mexican player of all time, Hugo Sánchez. They went into the final and were playing amazing football. I got totally emotionally invested in them, they won the final and won my heart since then. They later became the first back-to-back champions in the Mexican League and won the Santiago Bernabeú trophy against Real Madrid, a big deal for a Mexican team for sure.


Do you create football art professionally or is it a hobby?

I do it professionally. I started working in a big company here in Mexico, as I was getting out of college, I was doing digital marketing and pretty soon felt miserable. I hated corporate life and felt like I was selling my soul and time to something that wasn’t meaningful to me. I remember, some successful fellas who also studied  communication at the same Uni, were invited to give some talks at it. I happened to be in one about a guy who grew a sports agency in Mexico that made illustrations for Bleacher Report. As soon as I  found out about football illustration I realized it was my dream job. I always considered myself as a creative guy and loved football and drawing. So I decided to quit my job and give it a go. And here I am four years later, doing the same, having worked for Bleacher Report myself.

What football event or story has made an unforgettable impression on you?

I feel ashamed by this, because it’s a story about my team’s biggest rival. But I once got invited by one of my best friends to a Mexican League Final at the Azteca Stadium, it was América vs. Cruz Azul. I accepted, even though I wasn’t that interested. My friend’s father was a die hard América fan. They were losing 2-0 on aggregate, with about 5 minutes remaining. He decided it was time to go, we went to the car, and heard a big goal roar half the way. They scored, they were nearer, but he lost faith anyway. So we went into the car, someone was blocking our way out, so we decided to put the radio on, in case something big happened. And it did, the goalkeeper scored with 30 seconds remaining, we could still hear the enormous roar, people went wild, everybody was coming back to the stadium and we did too. I haven’t seen such a vibrant energy before with that many people involved, it was blowing. They won the game after the penalty shootout, everybody was extremely happy, I even saw a couple having their wedding at that very moment standing on their seats. It was unbelievable. I then realized the influence and power football has on many people.


Do you attend the stadium, and if so, which team’s matches do you try to get to?

Not that often, I’m not that into the Mexican League now. But I have to say I love to go when I do. I go to Pumas matches at Ciudad Universitaria and I sometimes go to the Mexican National team games, whenever they’re having an official game, otherwise they often play in America.

What are your interests besides football and art?

I love music, I’m really into it, even though it is still some kind of art. I love the outdoors, I enjoy nature, I like hiking, camping, and doing yoga. I really enjoy watching basketball, and tennis. I love playing tennis too, I might enjoy it even more than playing football. I also like reading, running, and spending time with friends and family.


Could you highlight a few of your works that make you especially proud and explain why?

I’ve had a hard time doing backgrounds, so this last series I made was an accomplishment.

This project was cool too. I’m proud because I used some old pictures of when I went to Paris and turned into a cool idea.


Who are your favourite football artists?

Daryl Rainbow

Dan Leydon

Mark Johnson

Chanfle FC

Gundersons