November 3, 2022

Harry McNamara

Instagram: @underthewallstudio

Date: August 2022

What is your story of fascination with football?

My fascination with football started in first school — playing football with friends and watching England. Beckham, Gerrard, Lampard were the guys when I was in school.


Do you create football art professionally or is it a hobby?

Drawing and Football have always been my two main interests so I started combining them as a hobby and I’ve had opportunities to work professionally off the back of that alongside also being a freelance designer.

What football event or story has made an unforgettable impression on you?

There’s been a lot of memorable moments going to Aston Villa but I don’t think I can look past the Lionesses’ Euro win this year. Genuine tears in my eyes, will inspire so many young girls and break down a lot of barriers. Seeing Villa get promoted at Wembley was special too.


Do you attend the stadium, and if so, which team’s matches do you try to get to?

I had a season ticket at Aston Villa for 10 years with my Dad. Being a kid, he paid for it and now I’m working for myself and balancing a lot of projects with quick turnarounds I go less. I really miss it.

What are your interests besides football and art?

Football and art have taken over really, I’m always consuming football content whilst working but outside of that I’ve got into running, I’m working towards doing a marathon. I’ve got a keen interest in nature and animals as well and I’m a massive nerd for Pokemon.


Could you highlight a few of your works that make you especially proud and explain why?

This Johan Cruyff piece is one of my favourites, I like how it works as a composition and I was trying out some new techniques around this time, which I think came out pretty well.

This is the second piece of work I did for CBS Sports of the USWNT. I never expected this would be anything more than a hobby so getting to work with a huge sports company was amazing. I was briefed on what to draw and I think I span it around in 3 days which for me is lightning speed. I don’t think it’s my best work but it was a big moment career-wise.

I just like this Neymar portrait. I’m trying to be braver with abstract colours and I think this one is just one of my favourites. I was getting loads of requests to draw Neymar at the time.


Who are your favourite football artists?

I love so many different artists’ stuff as well as appreciating the support they’ve given me. I try and consume a range of different styles so I love the work of: @grgidsgn @bradyink @charlesdrawin @misterdills @felixdrewthis @twoyellows @harrygward_ @danleydon @maryaxonsmith @yoniweisenberg @sonnydraws @villaspots and loads more.


Bonus

Share a funny story that happened to you personally or that you witnessed (not necessarily related to football).

I did something called the Ha Giang Loop which was this incredibly dangerous motorbike route on windy ‘roads’ around a mountain in Vietnam for 3 days with 2 mates. I’d never ridden a motorbike before and about an hour in, very high up the mountain, I was wobbling all over the place and with very little control of what I was doing I was heading straight for a gap in the railings on the road which would’ve sent me over the edge of a cliff. It was a genuine life-flashed-before-my-eyes moment. I had to fling myself off the bike, which luckily didn’t go off the edge of the cliff. My heart was racing, turned round to my mates, whilst sprawled on the floor… P*ssing themselves.