January 11

Holly

Instagram: @hollaaaa.fc

Date: September 2022

What is your story of fascination with football?

I was a football mad child. I would spend every hour of sunlight playing outside with my friends or just practicing keepy-uppies in the garden. We would trade Merlin Premier League 95’ stickers and go around each other’s houses to play football computer games.

My dad took me to my first Oxford United game at the Manor Ground when I was 9 years old. It was a Tuesday night cup game against QPR and I loved everything about it —  the songs, the smells, the swearing. From that point onwards all I cared about was going to games, getting autographs and becoming a ball boy.

I also joined a local girls football team when I was 10 and as a teenager I trained with OUFC ladies, but I wasn’t old enough to play for them. I was convinced I was going to be a pro-footballer, but my dodgy knee had other ideas.

(Barton Girls FC - we played in a tournament at Birmingham NEC)

Do you create football art professionally or is it a hobby?

I’m a freelance Copywriter/Creative and my illustration work is a hobby at the moment, but I would love it to become my full-time job.

I’ve always had a passion for drawing, so I started taking it more seriously last year when I moved to Finland and had more time on my hands after going freelance.

Before that I was working as a Creative Director at a social media agency in London and Dubai.

What football event or story has made an unforgettable impression on you?

Probably when Oxford United were promoted to Division One in 1996. I knew it was going to be a special one because my dad painted a blue ox on my face. I don’t think I’ve experienced a football-related high close to that win.

(Me in the middle walking to the game)

Do you attend the stadium, and if so, which team’s matches do you try to get to?

Whenever I go home to see my family I make sure I go to an Oxford game with my dad, sometimes I even plan my flights around the fixtures.

My second team is Spurs, mainly because my uncle is a die-hard fan. I went to see the last game of the season against Burnley back in May, Spurs won 1-0 and moved into the top 4 spot, so it was a good one to go to.

I also follow Huddersfield Town because my cousin plays for them. I was up there for the last game of the season and the atmosphere was amazing with all the buzz around the play-offs.

I definitely want to check out some WSL matches when I’m home in November. It would be a dream to see the Lionesses in action too.

What are your interests besides football and art?

Going to vintage shops and hunting for football treasures and weird pieces of furniture.

Cooking and feeding people. I’m at my happiest when I’m grilling for the family at the summer cottage.

I’m trying to enjoy CrossFit, but sometimes I just want to stay at home to drink tea and draw.


Could you highlight a few of your works that make you especially proud and explain why?

I’m really proud of my Ian Wright illustration in the bruised banana shirt. I knew it was going to be challenging because of the details on the shirt and it was my first attempt at using some new inking brushes I’d purchased for Procreate.

I’m really happy with how it turned out and Ian Wright liked and shared it, so that makes it extra special!


Who are your favourite football artists?

There are so many artists that inspire me but first to mind are:

Millie Chesters 

Middleofthefield_

Zooligan

Sodowling

Daryl_rainbow

And for amazing football photography:

Football is Everywhere

Nomadic Lens