Art
December 20, 2021

Bronzino’s icy portraits.

Eleonora of Toledo

Tonight, the paintings of this artist are my therapy.

They are somehow reassuring. Actually, Bronzino is one of the best examples of how one can earn his money riding the most fashionable wave of his time and still be a complete GENIUS. Since I am a marketing freak who likes to think that every talent can also be monetized, I like this idea of an artist being both absolutely talented AND commercially successful.
Also, Bronzino witnessed a serious black plaque outbreak of the 1520s hiding in a monastery outside Florence for several years and working on beautiful frescos while trying to survive…Can we all relate? Yes! Will we go out of our quarantine with a couple of jaw dropping frescos? I doubt it ))

So, I am sure you have more important things to do than reading my philosophical texts and please just enjoy several of my favorite Bronzino’s works. By the way, they have been described as “icy” portraits that put an abyss between the subject and the viewer. And yes, I simply adore him.

Venus, Cupid and Jelousy
Cosimo I de' Medici as Orfeus
Saint Sebastian
Holly Family Pantiacichi
Holly Family with St Anne and St John
Giarcia de' Medici
Pietà
Noli Me Tangere