Art
February 2, 2022

Colors by Félix Vallotton.

The abandoned lecture, 1925

After quite a long silence here on my blog, I am finally feeling like sharing some colorful art with you - a short selection of my favorite works by Félix Vallotton, Swiss/French artist and print maker. When I looked up his biography I was amazed that such energetically vivid and color bursting paintings were created by an artist with an extremely vulnerable character, with numerous depression episodes through his life.

Young woman with the green scarf, 1923
Back from the Sea, 1924
The Sea at low tide, 1922
The woman stepped in red holding a sigarette, 1922
Le Bain Turc
Pont sur le Béal, 1922
They black hat, 1909
Négresse assise de face, 1911
La Blanche et la Noire, 1913

A lonesome soul closed in his own world, Félix expressed all his hidden energy and passion in his paintings, they seem to be a powerful concentrate of what can be secretly accumulated in the dark angles of a creative introvert mind.