Art
December 18, 2021

Fujino Sachiko‘s organic sculptures.

Let me share with you some awesome art I discovered today. A swirling form of existence itself, immortalized in fragile clay. Strange and abstract that seem to be almost alive. They are beautiful and almost frightening and they can make you stare and stare forever… the art of Fujino Sachiko, Japan.

"Departing from traditional Japanese ceramics, Fujino Sachiko produces organic sculptures that have an ethereal feel to them. The Japanese artist began her career in textiles as a Kyoto fashion designer. Taking a pottery class in the early 1980’s helped her develop a passion for clay. Sachiko was lucky enough to study under Tsuboi Asul, the pioneering female ceramist.

The ceramics that Sachiko produces reflect her background in textiles by imitating folding and tucking of “fabric” and transcribing it onto her textured stoneware. Using an airbrush device that sprays and occasionally using a colored glaze, she adds depth to the normally “plain” surface".

- Suzanne Lovell

"We see in nature an infinite number of relations that exist in delicate balance. There is a similarity between this balance with nature and the equilibrium necessary to create sculptural works. When I start my coil building process, the form is ever expanding and reveals itself to me through my manipulation of the clay.”

- Fujino Sachiko

I swear I just couldn’t stop adding them!!!
But please agree, this is not about spamming with too many photos, it’s just about some rarely perfect contemporary art that is so hard to ignore…