October 2, 2020

Describe a Conversation Topic You were Not Interested In: IELTS Cue Card Sample Answers

The English proficiency exam, IELTS has four sections. In the IELTS speaking test, candidates are given cue card topics and they have to talk about it on the spot. Candidates have to go through rigorous training and do proper planning to pass this part of the IELTS exam as they have to think and structure their answer very quickly without making any grammatical errors.

Generally, descriptive type questions are given in IELTS speaking cue cards asking the candidates to describe a situation, event, incident etc. One of the interesting cue card topics is to describe a conversation topic you were not interested in.

These topics may appear to be easy but the actual challenge is to talk about the cue card topics in front of the IELTS examiner that too in a seamless and intellectual manner. Let’s find some sample answers for the IELTS speaking test that will help you get closer to your desired band score.

IELTS Speaking Cue Card Sample Answer – Describe a Conversation Topic You were Not Interested In

You should say:When you had the conversation?Who you talked with?What was the topic?And explain why you were not interested?

Introduction

As a person, I am very expressive and love to talk. I have always been an extrovert. I regularly take participation in interesting conversations which are full of humour or factual or anything that appears to be interesting to me. But, there are also times when I have to talk about things that are not very interesting and I feel bored. Today, I am going to talk about one of those incidents.

When You Had the Conversation?

Last week I went to one of my friend’s anniversary parties. Her house is not very far from mine. Many of our friends also came there. We were having a very good time. There were fun games and music too.

Who You Talked With? What was the Topic?

Everything was going very well but suddenly some of the relatives started talking about Coronavirus and how their lives changed due to this. They discussed its impact on their kid’s education to the economy. The elderly women also expressed how miserable their lives have become because the absence of their house helps.

Why were You Not Interested in this Topic?

The topic was important, I do not disagree with that but since the beginning of 2020, I am tired of talking and hearing conversations on this same topic. I went out of my home for that party after several months. I wanted to give myself a break from these problems. But unfortunately, the same topic was also going on.

The conversation lasted till the end of the party and I felt irritated but out of respect for the elders, I tried to accompany them.

Want to know more about IELTS Cue Card Sample Answers, click here