October 2, 2020

Describe a Line that You Remember from a Poem or Song: IELTS Speaking Cue Card Topic:

One of the important questions in the IELTS Speaking sections is cue cards. Cue cards are topics or cues that are provided by the examiner to you. You are expected to speak on the given topic for 1-2 minutes. Along with your topic, you are given 3-4 questions that serve as hints to help you form your answer.

Your examiner will be testing your speaking skills like fluency, pronunciation, syntax, and grammar through this test.

Instead of writing an elaborate list of notes during your preparation time, try and note down a few points and a structure in which you would like to address the topic. This would make your presentation clearer and easier to comprehend.

In this article, we are going to discuss how you can answer the cue card question where you are supposed to describe a line from a poem or song. We will also present sample answers for you to help you frame your answer better.

Cue Card Sample Answer 1- Describe a Line that You Remember from a Poem or a Song

What you should say:

  • What is the line?
  • Where do you remember it from?
  • Why is it significant for you?
  • How does it make you feel?

Introduction/ What is the Line?

I like reading poetry in my free time. I have acquired quite a few poetry collections from my parents in English as well as Telugu (my mother tongue). I clearly remember this line from a poem that goes, “Hope is the thing with feathers, That perches in the soul, and sings the tune without the words, and never stops- at all’’. These lines are from the first stanza of the poem titled Hope is the thing with feathers by Emily Dickenson.

Where do you Remember it From?

I was introduced to this poem in my childhood by my mother. She loves reading poetry and reading it out to us. I had lost my pet dog to a roadside accident and I couldn’t stop crying that day. My mother came to me telling me how my dog would be in a better place with God. She read me this poem to sleep and woke up the next morning feeling lighter.

Why is it Significant for You?

This poem is really important for me because it is one of the first poems that I could connect to. My parents are spiritual people and I could never understand their love for poetry before this. This poem helped me connect to the world of literature and my parents. I started reading more poems and spending more time with my parents. I also shared the poem with my friend and it helped me strengthen my bond with them during conflicting times.

How does it Make you Feel?

I read this poem whenever I feel the need to stay calm. It provides me with a sense of relief. The poem has also made me feel closer to myself over time. It has provided me a sense of belonging and warmth during difficult times. Whenever I read it now, I am reminded of my mother’s love that has made me the strong person I am today.

Want to know more about IELTS Speaking Cue Card Topic, click here