October 2, 2020

Describe an Old Friend You Got in Contact with Again: IELTS Cue Card Sample Answers

The IELTS speaking cue card is one of the sections in which most of the students struggle with. This is the component that judges you on your pronunciation skills, how well can you express your opinions, and if you are able to organize your thoughts in a coherent manner.

Let’s look at sample questions like – describe an old friend you got in contact with or a friend who is very open to getting a clear picture.

Cue Card 1: Describe an Energetic Person You Know

It should comprise:

1)Who is it?

2) How do you know this person?

3) What are your thoughts about this person?

4) Conclusion

Below are the IELTS speaking cue card sample answers-

Who is It?

When I hear the word “energetic” I can only think of one person that is my aunt. Her name is Pooja Verma, she is a medical practitioner and a yoga lover.

How do You Know this Person?

I remember she used to visit us when I was little. I often saw her at family gatherings such as birthday parties, weddings, or celebrations.

What are Your Thoughts on this Person?

At parties, we would often talk about how she remains to be fit at this age. I am always fond of her high- spirited and vibrant nature. She does yoga, farming owns her own clinic and also takes care of her family. At an age like her, she inspires our entire family.

Conclusion

If you want to follow your passion, age can not stop us. Age is just a number and if you continue to follow what you love then nothing can stop you. It is all in the mind and if you can control the mind you will be successful.

Cue Card Topic 2: Describe an Old Friend that You got in Contact with Again

Try including:

  1. Who was that friend?
  2. How did you meet?
  3. How did you feel about it?
  4. Conclusion

Below are the listed IELTS speaking cue card sample answers-

Who is that Friend?

I had a dear friend called Veronica Gandhi in the 7th class. We used to hang out every day. Sadly, after 7th class, I got shifted to another school without informing her and lost my contacts too!

How did You Meet?

One day on my way to the market, I was buying some flowers and all of a sudden I heard her voice and I looked back to see it was Veronika. I shouted Veronika! She looked back at me and waved excitedly. It was after 7 years that we got to meet!

How did You Feel About It?

I was pleasantly surprised to meet her. It felt a little strange at first but later on, the shyness died away quickly. We indulged in gossiping and shopping and even bought gifts for each other to celebrate our friendship.

Conclusion

Lastly, we went for dinner in a cafe nearby and cracked jokes about the people in our lives and hoped that the day had not ended. It was literally one of the best evenings of my life.

Want to know more about IELTS Cue Card Sample Answers, click here