October 2, 2020

Describe A Prize That You Received: IELTS Cue Card Sample Answers for Speaking Test

The speaking test is the second stage of your IELTS examinations and tests you for your language fluency and speech skills. It is conducted face-to-face through video call appointments with a highly trained expert in speech and linguistics to grade you. You’re given a cue card with a topic or a question on which you’re supposed to speak on the spot. A 1 minute long preparation time is given and you’re supposed to speak for an average of 3 minutes.

The questions are generally descriptive types asking you to describe a multitude of things, experiences, people, or your area of interest such as an old friend or your favourite family, or your favourite holiday destination, or your favourite hobby.

Though the exam seems pretty straightforward and easy, in actuality many factors could work against you such as loss of words or grammatical mistakes and miss spoken and misused words. Thus, proper practice and coaching are required to help you put your ideas into words and get you used to extempore speaking so that you don’t fumble on the spot.

Describe a Prize that You Received: IELTS Cue Card Sample Answer

Prompts:

Introduction

What Prize did you win?

How did you feel?

Why is this particular prize important?

Wrap It Up.

Introduction

Everyone runs after glory, fruits for their efforts, validation for their work in their area of interest. It’s human nature to be this way. Running after fame and fortune have come to have a negative connotation for absolutely no reason at all but people would be hypocritical to say they don’t want it.

What Prize did You Win?

I was in class 6 when I participated in my first elocution contest. I had always been very interested in poems and English literature in general but I never had the guts to actually participate in any contests. However, that year my English teacher forced me to go for auditions. The whole journey is a blur and before I knew it I was standing on stage receiving an award from my principal.

Why is this Prize Important?

This was just a start. After that, I started boldly approaching and participating in activities that I like such as story writing competitions, drama auditions, debates, and many more.

However, nothing came close to my first elocution competition and my first prize. It was what made me accept and utilize my talents and learn to embrace opportunities. That first taste of accolades and appreciation made me so happy and I realized that I am someone with capabilities, someone who could shine too if I put in my efforts.

Want to know more about IELTS Cue Card Sample Answers for Speaking Test, click here