August 25, 2020

How I made a 3D movie about Gibson

Hi guys, my name is Anton, I am a vocalist, guitarist, and recently a motion designer. This story is about how I get started making a 3D movie about Gibson Les Paul.

3D model of Les paul on a simulated stage

Once upon a time, on a hot summer evening, I was lying on my grandmother's terrace and listening to Metallica's Nothing Else Matters. It was because of this track that I firmly decided at that moment that I would play the guitar no matter what it cost me.

Shortly before that, I was given the Internet. It was an indescribable feeling. Before me, a 12-year-old boy, opened up such a huge world, which I did not even know about. Music consumed me. I listened to everything at once. Rock, blues, country - everything was great. The Gibson Les Paul guitar became the embodiment of this music for me. Honestly, I've never played it. I perfectly understand that he has flaws, that there are other guitars in the world. But I cannot stay indifferent when I see Les Paul "singing" in the hands of Slash, James Hetfield, Joe Bonamassa, Jimmy Page, Richie Sambora and other outstanding musicians. I really hope that I will be the proud owner of this legend.

Now, I started to study a new profession of motion designer for myself. To make the learning process really enjoyable, I decided to make a 3D video for the soul. About what I admire. And that object was a Gibson Les Paul.

In order to make a high-quality video, I had to study this guitar and the people who liked it so much.

Poll

I wrote to people from all over the world asking what people love the most about their Les Pauls. And to be honest, I did not find a definite answer. People said different things. Some people liked the sound, others liked the P90 pickups (which is basically the same thing), and others liked the smell of mahogany. Someone likes the look of a guitar ("The Les paul body shape. It’s like a woman, lol. Beautiful curves.")

I found out that the colors Sunburst, Tobacco Burst and Gold Top are the favorite colors of Les Paul fans. Based on this, I decided on the color palette that I will use in my video. The palettes contain the colors of the above listed options, as well as various colors of wood and their accompanying dominates.

Сolors of wood
Sunburs

Further, based on communication with many owners of this guitar, I put together a mood board in which there were color palettes, objects with which Les paul is associated, and much more that would help me in the future when creating a video.

Moodboard. What was my inspiration

Previsualization

At this stage, I realized that everything that I imagine is only in my head and it needs to be visualized. After all, visualization is one of the most powerful tools for achieving goals. I made a sketch of the scenes and fill them with primitive objects, which will later be replaced with a suitable environment. After a week and a half, I have some result.

Main stage
Animation process
Just imagine there is a combo instead of a cube in the center.
Volume to the maximum!

Thank you for reading the post to the end. I hope the article was interesting and you will support me in my endeavors. I will continue to work on this video. There is still a lot of work ahead, and this is good news. After all, not only the goal but also the path to it brings great pleasure.

To be continued.

P.S. Sorry for my English)