January 19, 2020

Meditation for brain

https://www.vox.com/future-perfect/2020/1/10/21013234/meditation-brain-neuroscience-moral-obligation

It is not a wide-spread practice for Russian to meditate. Most parts of the Russian population are from the Soviet Union where this type of activity wasn't so popular.

Frankly said, I am not a person who meditates too as most of the Russsian citizens, although I was born in a "new" Russian reality.

Some days ago I started to think about it. What is it? Should I implement it in my life? How can I implement it in my life?

I started from the end and found some ways of meditation to identify the better one for me:

  • mindfulness meditation (attention training and direct observation);
  • loving-kindness meditation;
  • compassion meditation.

As for me, I prefer the first way of meditation, because I think that meditation is the way how we can help ourselves.

So if we concentrate on our thoughts it will be more effective. But if we concentrate on how to help others when we need to fix our brain, we will lose mental strength.

Besides, I found that the second way of meditation is very difficult. You need to tell different strange words for yourself to assure that you are better than you are. I think it isn't an effective way too, especially, if you are a very self-critical person. You can't be serious during this meditation, because you know your weaknesses.

So, mindfulness meditation seems to be more realistic and effective for modern and self- critical people than others.

The last question was done. So, why I should implement it in my life.

We all know where we are living and how many small and big problems appear in our family, relations, work and other parts of our life. We can't disappear to avoid these difficulties even we want to do it very much. We can't switch off our husbands, parents, friends, children, colleagues, and strangers even they are annoying us.

So maybe one of the ways is to switch off yourself for a while and meditate.