January 30, 2020

Data scientist

https://hbr.org/2012/10/data-scientist-the-sexiest-job-of-the-21st-century?roistat_visit=12277455

This article makes me think about my working experience. The working with people who are using the old methods of working and aren't able to build a simple table in excel don't seem like a work of future where the data scientists will be the sexiest. It is about my current work.
Besides, I see how people who are relatives of the top management become successful, but ordinary people who are working hard and trying to implement new initiatives like analysis of big data, automatization of key processes, etc not so demand.
So, I am facing such a problem: the reality requires us to be advanced data scientists, but employees ask to use the old methods of work in the usual way. Most of the employees don't want to change anything and understand how it is important to use modern technologies as soon as possible. Most of the colleagues have the same point of view.
For example, I know some colleagues who are trying to implement new ideas in my company. But there is another problem - they are a minor part. If they want to launch a new program or system, it will not work because other colleagues are not ready for it. Some of them are lazy and don't want to input special data to form databases, some of them afraid to ask a piece of advice on how to use the program, etc.
So, I think our world, at all, is ready to accept new data scientists, but our society isn't.