November 28, 2019

Lesson 13: Christmas at "Friends"


Topic of the week: Christmas and the New Year

Monday

Useful vocabulary

Time code: 00:00

Chandler: Let me ask you, why is everybody using these tiny lights nowadays? I remember when people used to use big lights...
Rachel: That's a good story grandpa

Let me ask you - 'позвольте спросить' - отличный способ начать диалог.

That's a good story grandpa - отличная история, дедуля. Так можно отреагировать, когда человек вспоминает старые времена. Также можно использовать новое выражение 2019 года - Ok, boomer (бумеры - поколение X).

Time code 00:16

Wow, Monica's letting other people help decorate her tree?

Decorate a tree - украшать елку

Christmas tree - новогоднаяя елка. А как будет просто елка, которая растет в лесу? Spruce.

Time code 1:35

Chandler, aren't you worried about what to get Monica for Christmas?
No, I have a great idea for a present for her
Oh, that's it? A great idea?

Get smth someone for [celebration] - подарить подарок на [праздник]

That's it - и это всё?

Time code: 3:36

Wait a minute, wait a minute! No, we can't do this!
Why?
I don't wanna know what Monica got me, you know, I mean, look... I'm sure she worked really hard at getting me a present...

You know, I mean, look - знаете/понимаете/смотрите - слова-заполнители речи. Используйте их когда нужно собраться с мыслями и ответить.

Comprehension task

  1. Was Monica happy with the way friends decorated her tree?
  2. How do we call a Christmas tree that grows in a forest?
  3. Why friends were searching the house for presents?
  4. How did the girls convince Chandler to help them look for presents?
  5. Why Chandler was against it?

Record your voice message and send it @EnglishTutorialBot before Saturday 9 p.m. (UTC +3). Your voice message should be around 1.5-2 minutes long.


Looking forward to your homework,

💛 With love, teacher