November 28, 2019

Lesson 14: New Year's Idioms

Topic of the week: Christmas and the New Year

Tuesday

There are six idioms in this conversation. Find all the idioms and send them to @EnglishTutorialBot for a quick check.

Kate: So how are you going to ring in the new year Mike?

Mike: My family and I are going out on a boat to watch the fireworks from the sea. I'm so excited!

Kate: Wow, sounds amazing. My boyfriend and I plan to go on camping. I'm so exhausted so I hope to get away from it all.

Mike: have you thought of any New Year’s resolutions?

Kate: Well, we chatted about that. I’ve got lots of habits I want to kick. I want to stop eating junk food and wasting my money on clothes. So, I’m thinking I’m going to turn over a new leaf for this year. A whole new diet and budget plan. How about you?

Mike: I always set lots of goals and I do tend to bite off more than I can chew. This year I want to apply for Masters studies, learn German, take swimming classes, buy a new house and find a girlfriend!

Kate: Wow, that is a lot! What major will you be studying?

Mike: It's computer science. I’m going to have to start from scratch with it as it is a completely new field for me. But I’m meeting with a friend this week who works as a programmer so he’s going to help me get the ball rolling.

Kate: Well, good luck with it!

Looking forward to your homework,

💛 With love, teacher