January 5, 2021

Letter 1

This letter is written to Brahmaswaroop Pragji Bhakta by Shastri Yagnapurushdas, describing the events that occurred when he met Acharya Maharaj at Kandaari. Maharaj and Maharajshri refer to Acharya Maharaj. In this letter, “regain the status of a sadhu again” refers to the situation where Shastriji Maharaj and his supporters were ordered to take off their bhagawa clothes and wear svet clothes instead. Demoting asadhu to a parshad’s status is considered an act of humiliation, where the sadhu is often received with ill feelings. This letter was written when Shastriji Maharaj was reinstated to his bhagawa clothes after making him and his supporters wear svet clothes for quite some time.

To the best devotee Pragjibhai Govindbhai, who is Param Ekantik, living in the extremely holy Mavabandar (Mahuva), and who worships the Pragat Purushottam, regards and Jai Shri Swaminarayan from Sadhu Yagnapurushdas from Vadodara.

You sent me a message through Shivshankarbhai that I should be determined to study [scriptures] and become a sadhu (to regain the status of a sadhu from parshad status). Afterwards, I went to the village Kandaari to have darshan of Maharajshri. I requested him to make me a sadhu again so that I may resume my studies, and I can also stay here and greatly serve Mitha Bhagat by helping him manage the kitchen in the best way. Maharajshri was pleased and agreed to make me a sadhu (he agreed to revoke his agna of wearing svet (white) clothes). Then, since Shankar Bhagat went to Dhuliya, Maharajshri placed him here in Mitha Bhagat’s seva instead of me and made me a sadhu. And Maharajshri kept me with him for my studies. I studied Ekaadas Skandh at Thasara. Then my teacher, Keshavprasaddas, was sent to Vartal. Since I am learning from him, I will also go to Vartal tomorrow. I have come here for my books [for study] from Saadhi, where Maharaj is right now.

Maharaj was asking me about your health and was very pleased with me. Now, there are no difficulties to face. [Maharajshri] will reinstate Keshavprasad as a sadhu during the samaiyo. Then he will call others from Dhuliya. (Vignandas, Bechar Bhagat, and the rest will also be called to be reinstated as sadhus).Maharajshri called me to the village of Pipali, where Shastri Dharmatanaydas was present, and asked, “Does Vignandas possess Bhagat’s [Pragji Bhakta] knowledge of the Vachanamrut comprehensively or not? And what is lacking now?” Then I said that Bhagat [Pragji Bhakta] has taught him all the Vachanamruts, and he [Vignandas] is also constantly doing bhajan. However, what is lacking is just as Bhagat [Pragji Bhakta] withdraws his senses and introspects deeply and speaks with Shreeji Maharaj, that level hasn’t been taught [by Pragji Bhakta], that much is lacking. So Maharaj said, “I am worried Bhagat’s knowledge will remain as is, within him, and leave with him. It would be best if he makes one reach his level. The body has no certainty. He is old now.”

Then Dharmatanaydas said He will not leave his body without making someone reach that level. So do not be concerned about that. Then Maharaj said, “Very well. And for 12 months, you must not say anything outside (in public) that can cause any problems, and then I will definitely call Bhagat [Pragji Bhakta]. You have affection for me and do as I say, so I’m obliged to fulfill all of your wishes. And in my mind, I with that Bhagat’s knowledge spreads everywhere!

Then I said last time, in the village of Bhadrod, Bhagat [Pragji Bhakta] told us that if you please Acharyaji Maharaj and all of Satsang, I swear in the name of my Purushottam that I will impart my knowledge to you! Also, if you please Acharyaji Maharaj, then Shreeji Maharaj will be also pleased.” He said it thusly. He also said many, many times, “You all did not abandon Satsang that is the greatest thing you did. Therefore, by any means, regain your sadhu status.” He said that.

Then, he [Maharajshri] told Muni that whoever associates with Bhagat walks on the right path. This is how he (Acharya Maharaj) calls us many times and shows good humor.

Accept the regards of Maharaj, Desai Bhagat, Dayaanandji and Dharmatanaydasji. Also give my regards to Narayanbhai, Purushottambhai, Ranchhodbhai, Dhana Sheth, Giga Bhagat, Valji etc. living there. The samaiyo was great in Saadhi. Please have pity on me and fulfill my innermost wish of seeing you soon. Please reply with news of your happiness and peace. Now there are no hardships to face. That’s it…. Please forgive me if I have written anything wrong.