October 12, 2020

Creating a 3D motion video about Red Dead Redemption 2 - Week 3

Hey everyone, it's me - mograph guy again! I'm working on a fan 3D motion graphic about RDR2 world.
The last post was about creating a rough visualization of the ideas I had in mind. So, following the path - this time I'll tell you about the next stage.
This week my main task was to replace all those cubes and block with final models. Some had to be modeled by my own hands, but hey.. western is a quite popular topic, which is really great for me as modelling everything by hand is super time consuming.

As always I'm including the notes in screenshot order, a little explanation will help understanding:

A desert town. Before and after.
So, as you can see all of these houses were just blocks and cubes, but look at them now, this is pure magic.

Explosives, safe, gun and booze. Do you see where this is going? Hehe

So, where's madam Nazar today? Need to bring all of those cards, rings and coins back :D


In the next post I'll tell about the most interesting stage - creating a brand RDR2 look - volumetric lighting, texturing and the purest magic.
As always thank you for your attention!