November 24, 2020

Making of 3D fan video | RDR2

Hey everyone, in this article I will tell you about the process of creating a 3D motion video particularly about Red Dead Redemption 2. So, sit back, relax and enjoy!

Artdirection

So, what do you start with? How do you know what to do first? - Well, the first thing that came to my head is to ask people. That's right. I went to forums, public pages, groups and just asked fans what do they like about RDR2. I am a fan myself, but wanted to create something special. It was a really nice experience.

A really good start and a nice foundation. After that I started working on the moodboard, keeping in mind every little detail from the feedback.

Previsualization

The next step was creating a rough visualization - i.e. blocking. In this step you take basic figures, animate them and create basic scene environment with those figures. Basically, you're working on a foundation for your video.

Here are some of the examples:

As you can see, most of the objects are just basic figures, but in some cases it is more convenient to go with somewhat modeled objects.

Animation

The next step in our 3D adventure is to replace the primitives with final objects and animate them. Basically you're finalizing your scenes, making them 'full' before you start working on the light and materials.

This is where you modelling skills will be handy. But of course it always depends on how much time you are willing to invest, as it gets very time consuming very fast :)

Of course, here are some examples for you:

As you can see, the scenes look less abstract and much more interesting now.

Another nice touch on this stage is to add some color to your objects, as it becomes a little confusing when you start filling your scene with many new objects.

Lookdeving

It's time to set the light and create beautiful materials. This is where you create the famous RDR2 look and give you scenes the correct vibe and mood.

I think it'll be better to start with examples right away:

It is fascinating how light can affect your scene. In a few simple steps you can get a completely new look.

So, that was a quick look on how a 3D motion graphics video is created. If you found that interesting, make sure to check out my detailed video on Youtube. I promise you, it's not boring :)

Check out my socials

Instagram

Dribbble

Thank you and I hope you learned something new!

Also would like to thank the isaevworkshop, this video was created within their course.

During those 2 months under their supervision I had a great time learning and acquiring new skills. Speaking truth, I had zero experience and zero knowledge of the 3D video creation 'pipeline'. Now I know where and how to start.
So, be sure to check them out!