August 26, 2020

Birth of a 3D art project for Ableton


Hey! I would like to share my project with you. I'll clarify right away that there is no advertising here - you don't need to click on any link. I am an ordinary musician and motion artist from Poland named Andrew. I decided to tell the world about my ideas and show the process of their implementation.

What is it all about? I'm doing a short 3D motion video introducing Ableton. This is a program with incredible features and a huge community of cool and creative people. Despite this, I could not find any mind blowing art videos. But that will change very soon! I've already gotten a lot of support from people on reddit. They were of great help in building the right associations and goals for starting this project.

Well, I'll start with the most important thing - music. The track was written by my friend and me, specifically for this project and, of course, in Ableton 😄 We needed something bright and dynamic. The very first thing you can hear is the sound of the default metronome of the program. Everyone who has chosen Ableton as their daw knows that sound. Most likely, the version is not yet final, but for this stage it is what I need.


IDEA

I want to show the process of creating a track in the program. From recording and playing an instrument to mixing and exporting. In the very first frames, you will see (and hear) the metronome itself - both classic and in the interface with displaying the rhythm in Ableton.

And, please, don't be intimidated by these terrible noise on footages, clumsiness and unworked details. We are now at the stage of preparing the rhythm, idea and plot. In the end, everything will be of the highest quality and worked out to the smallest detail.

One of the very first frames is sound recording.

3D MODELS

To implement my idea, I needed a program interface in a vector (a type of graphics with which you can then work in 3D). I could not find it absolutely anywhere. I searched in system folders - everything is encoded in incomprehensible formats while endless searches on Google did not give any result. I decided to completely rewrite the entire interface myself for later work. It turned out that the task is quite difficult. 😌 But almost the entire interface is ready now for integration into 3D. And if you, dear reader, also need a vector of all the icons and windows of Ableton - feel free to write to me. I will gladly share it.

Damn, every detail had to be drawn and recreated in a graphics program

I also took KRK V8 monitors for studio shots. Can you suggest something else? Perhaps there is something better, but these guys are certainly the most popular and immediately associated with producing.


Moving to the instruments, playing the keys, then hopping to the studio with our beloved KRK V8s falling from the ceiling. 😄 I have modeled the room and furniture for a rough draft. I also worked a lot with the camera animation, at this stage it is very important.


I will also introduce 3D animations into live footage with a drummer. It will appear during playback at the 11th second of the track.


And again we return to the studio to mix. Work in progress with Ableton's vector interface. I need to finish the browser and mixer window. But only after all camera and preparation work is done.

Let me know if this project is interesting to you. During next few weeks, I will most likely publish a couple more posts. I would be glad to hear what you think about this. So far, these are all drafts, but serious work has already begun. And next week you will see progress. Until!

версия на российском