July 12, 2021

Why do dogs eat grass?

You have of course seen your dog eating grass. Talking from experience here, my dog Silk has done it countless times in the last three-and-a-half years. Being a Labrador mix there’s not much she hasn’t attempted to eat yet….


Grass eating is often followed by vomiting and sends panic down the dog owners minds. But not every dog who eats grass will throw up. Statistics show that only 27% dogs vomit after grazing on their walks.

So in this section we will talk about different reasons why your dog might be eating grass.

Lack of fiber: Lack of fiber is a problem in humans as well as dogs. We usually resort to the infamous legumes while dogs resort to grass. This is completely normal and should not be a cause for concern. If your dog eats grass frequently and doesn’t show any other signs of concern like loss of appetite then it’s probably the lack of fiber. You might be feeding her the best quality dog food, but sadly my suggestion would be: it’s time for a change or you can add some carrots and pumpkin to her regular kibble. Always remember to cut in bite size pieces!

To induce vomiting: Sometimes your dog might eat something she is not supposed to or feel bloated or gassy because of it. From my personal experience I have seen, Silk will eat grass when her stomach hurts. She will beg me to take her for a walk and then graze on whatever leaves she feels like having. By the time we are back home, she leaves me a wonderful surprise. In the form of vomit, of course! Again if this happens once in a while it is not a cause of concern. Sometimes when I can hear her stomach growl, I give her a drop of Ondem syrup which seems to calm it in an hour or so. Again this comes from my personal experience, but it works for Silk, should work for you as well. But if your dog vomits more frequently or keeps repeating the habit for more than 2 days, my take would be its time for a ride to the vet.

Note: At times, worms in your dog’s tummy may also encourage him to eat grass. But if you regularly deworm your dog this shouldn’t be a cause of concern.

Boredom: Some dogs just do it because they are bored. While it may be heard to hear for any dog parent, it should be taken seriously. If your dog eats grass very frequently (like on every walk) then its time to provide some kind of alternative simulation like keeping a few treats in your pocket or spice the walk a little with some fetch.

Enjoyment

Some dogs just like it! If you have a yard in your house and a Labrador as a pet, it may be likely that your dog has taken a liking to the grass due to frequent access to it. I have a small yard in my house and if let loose, Silk will eat whatever I plant in it. (I cannot grow plants even when I would like to!) This is no reason to panic, you just have to accept every dog is unique and make sure the grass she has access to is free of pesticides to avoid any future problems.