October 23, 2023

Reported speech

When we report what people said, we often move 'one tense back'.

  • present simple -> past simple,
  • present perfect -> past perfect,
  • past simple -> past perfect,
  • will -> would,
  • can -> could.

Examples

Direct speech: I've cancelled your cards.
Reported speech: The guy I spoke to told me he'd cancelled them.

Direct speech: They'll be with you within three or four days.
Reported speech: He said the new cards would be with me within three or four days.

Direct speech: I'm very sorry.
Reported speech: She said he was very sorry.

Direct speech: I will be late today.
Reported speech: She told me that she'd be late.


When we report questions that start with a question word, we don't use do/does/did. The word order becomes subject + verb.

“Where do you live?”
-> She asked me where I lived.

For yes / no questions that start with do, can, would, etc. add if.

“Can you hear me?”
-> He asked if I could hear him.

“Have you seen it before?”
-> She asked me if I'd seen it before.