October 30, 2023

Present perfect continuous

The present perfect continuous is used to talk about activities that started in the past and are unfinished.

  • We've been rehearsing “The Rite of Spring” recently for a concert.
  • I think she's just tired because she's been working so hard.

for and since

For is used to give an amount of time.

  • I've been playing the trumpet for ten years now.
  • For the last few weeks, they've been showing a series on TV based on the books.

Since is used to say when the period of time started.

  • I've been learning Turkish since 2012.
  • I've been playing the violin since I was about twelve.
  • We met at school and we've been good friends since then.

Verbs not in present perfect continuous

Some verbs are generally used in the present perfect simple — not the present perfect continuous, e.g.

be, believe, hate, like, know.

Look at

  • I've liked her ever since then.
  • I've known I wanted to be an artist since I was three.

We use present perfect continuous to talk about how long - and to focus on the activity.

We use the present perfect simple to talk about how many - and to focus on finished achievements in the timpe up till now.

I've been phoning him all morning, but he's not anwering. (=how long)
I've phoned ten shops, but none of them had the book! (=how many)

They've been meeting since April to discuss the project. (=how long)
We've met several times beofre. (=how many)