generals
February 5, 2020

How to set proper goals in public speaking

Reading time: 3 min.

To study effectively - you need to know literally "where" to study. What points you are wasting your time for. Like learning the guitar - you sit and write a list:

  1. I want to be the soul of the company;
  2. I want to play as Estas Tonne ;
  3. I want to earn money with the guitar, put together a music group and travel around the world winning hearts of the fans.

This collocation "I want…" is actually a goal, but let me make one point. "I want to live on Mars". Sure, I could sign in a contract with Elon Musk and join a team of brave-hearted pioneers in Mars exploration. But the goal you set must be realizable. Of course, you can dream about Mars, but the goal has to be more practical. For example "get a job at Nasa company and strive to become an astronaut". This is a GOAL. 

Where does he climb?

However, let's come down on earth and think inside of the same box in terms of public speaking. Your goals could be like:

  1. I want to perform on TEDx or on TEDtalks (about the difference I will tell later);
  2. I want to be ready to protect my scientific article in front of well-known professors;
  3. I want to be able to talk about anything anywhere (what requires a lot of practice and anti-fragility);
  4. So on and so force... 

I mean, that the goal "I want to become 2nd Winston Churchill" is more a dream, but not the goal actually.

Remember, the goal must be achievable

Let's do something practical:

  1. Take a sheet of paper and write there 10 common troubles you have during your performances|comunications with people.
  2. Think about all these issues and write a small solution in front of each issue.
  3. Write 3 goals, which will resolve all these issues.
  4. Ready!
Here we are, now you have your own personalized goal list, which is ready for implementation. In the next post we will talk about public speaking roadmaps and will try to write our own. Wait for the updates, subscribe to our channel in telegram, share this post or leave a comment here

Yours sincerely,

Speech Club