July 24, 2020

Is Omegle Safe?

Omegle is a chat site that connects you with random strangers from all across the world.

It is a portion of the message you can find on the Omegle site:

"Understand that human behaviour is essentially uncontrollable, that the people you meet on Omegle may not behave appropriately, and that they are solely liable for their behaviour. Use Omegle at your peril. Leave if anyone makes you feel uncomfortable. You may be denied access to Omegle for inappropriate behaviour or any other reason."

Another message you can see is:

"Predators have been known to use Omegle, so please be cautious."

From this, you can assume that Omegle isn't entirely safe. You will have to meet a lot of people who send sexually explicit messages.

There is a lot of racism around too. Unless you are American or European(or your skin color isn't white), you have a high chance of getting disconnected or/and getting insulted.

I am someone who practices Omegle very much. Once I met a 14-year-old girl who was scared when some stranger threatened to track her IP address and find her if she didn't do what he said on webcam. So, it isn't a place filled with kind strangers.

However, I have also met a lot of charming people from all over the planet who were excellent, and I am still friends with some of them.

It is also a great platform to anonymously get advice and help on subjects that you cannot ask people you know.

Your safety depends on the amount of caution you take while using this site. I would make the following suggestions.

  1. Do not share your personal information ( For example, the name of the street you live, your school name, university name, etc.) which can be used to classify you.
  2. Do not give out your Facebook, Instagram, skype, etc. unless you are 100% certain that the other person is trustworthy.
  3. Be aware that even if the person behaves like a true gentleman, he could be faking.
  4. There are also statements on quora telling that acting like a gentleman is an excellent way to get girls on Omegle.
  5. Always disconnect as soon as the other person misbehaves.
  6. If you want to meet up with a stranger again, you could try using applications like Kik ( I do not use Kik myself and therefore do not know the amount of anonymity it provides.)

Omegle is still the best way I know off to make new friends worldwide. It is safe as long as you are cautious. You can meet a lot of interesting people from various parts of the world. I have made many friends Omegle. I believe that with better regulation, the site would be much better.

P.S: Feel free to correct me if I am wrong somewhere and do add your thoughts on the matter.

Sorry for the mistakes I made in typing. English is not my native language, and I have tried my best to convey my message without errors.