# design
July 21, 2022

Customer Service: it's all about empathy

I'm convinced that success in every field, one way or another, comes through empathy. Being human first, we want to be understood, respected, heard, and shown genuine care. So do our clients. By empathizing with them, we can work miracles, build trust for years and bring businesses to a new level.

Why am I talking about it with so sure

Before my design journey, I worked as a freelance copywriter and customer support manager — such a hectic two years of my life. I worked 50-60 hours a week, was both a chat and email manager, a lead manager, and a crisis manager who worked with the most disappointed clients and even defended the company's image in public.

During this time, I helped over 1000 people, answered 8000 emails and chats (hard to count precisely), trained several teams, and created dozens of training materials for the entire support department. It was probably, the most stressful work of my life, but I loved it. The feeling when you help someone is indescribable; there is so much joy in it. Sometimes I want to repeat all of it, but hopefully, my common sense stops me every time I think about it.

From my experience, I see that right after the service/product's quality comes the empathy of those who lead clients through it, keeping them loyal.

Recipes for good client work

I know it can sound smug, like I have some special recipes or I'm better at dealing with clients. This is not true. I just love helping people, and I want to share my experience and the principles I have developed for myself during my work in customer support.

Since I can't just list my tips, I prepared this little book (I couldn't resist to draw something cute). Hope you enjoy it as I do! 🥰

Be kind! And have a lovely rest of the week.