# case study
January 3, 2022

How was designed the website for the imaginary photo studio

I wanted to create a beautiful website for a fictional client. Without hesitation, I decided that it will be the site for a photo studio.

Before starting, I sketched a rough plan: a large photo, minimalistic elements, and a photo strip that scrolls endlessly (in theory). I just took a look at the websites of other photo studios and got to work.

At first, I wanted to design the first block like this: a large photo, in the upper left corner - a logo, in the right - just a line indicating a drop-down menu. I wanted to do everything very minimalist, minimum text - maximum visual content.

As for the font, first, my eyes fell on a beautiful serif font - Cormorant SC. He gave elegance. But it was difficult to read and to work with it. Although it is very beautiful, I am still sometimes tempted to return it.

Then I didn't like the way the text looks on the new photo. I tried other photos, moved the logo and menu. But in the end, I completely removed the photo and replaced it with a rectangle, I changed the font, left the logo and menu on a white background. Yes, that looked better. But the other game began... with fonts, logo, and menu.

Hashtags appeared and with them - the idea of filtering photos right on the main page, without living that page to another. Click on the hashtag - and all the photos are filtered by subject. I think it's convenient.

Then the idea slipped through to add some promotions. But this idea didn't catch on. In the end, I settled on this view: the logo at the top middle, location indicator in the upper left corner, the menu in the upper right corner, next goes a rectangle and a short word about the company, filters in the form of hashtags and the photos themselves.

The contact page was done in one sitting. I knew right away that I wanted to continue in the same style as the home page.

In addition, I have never seen such a contact page anywhere. I found it an interesting format.

The message that appears after submitting the form, I decided to leave on the same page. It appears in the place, where were the input fields. And when you hover over the "great" button, here appears the hint about where this button leads. It leads back to the main page.

Also, I wanted to hide additional information and show it at the right time.

The page with photographers was done in the same style. Information about photographers appears when you click on a photo.

Summing up, I want to say that I like this project a lot. It’s aesthetic and pleasing to the eye.

Thank you! 🤍