# design
March 15, 2022

Redesign for a startup that helps cut costs on work apps

I didn't post anything for a month. A month from which 20 days there is a war in my loved home country πŸ’›πŸ’™. All this time I could not find the words, but now they are found. And in my next blog post, I will speak out. In the meantime, I will describe my last work, while at least somehow I collected my thoughts.

...

A little over a month ago, the CEO of this company contacted me and offered to do something together. We started with a kind of test task in which I had to propose my vision of two existing interfaces: chat and task creation, and improve them. Due to temporary difficulties (out of our control), we suspended the process for a while, but I do not despair and will gladly show you what I did.

There were several requests. The first was that they wanted to shrink the sidebar and add a chat bar. From the very beginning, I felt their style and desire for simplicity, so it was not difficult for me to quite quickly come up with a design for this.

Here is my design:

The "before" design:

Task creation. Here I put all fields in the center, so users can be more focused. Also, I didn't try to fill every empty white place on the screen, I decided to leave it clean and simple, so nothing will distract from the task creation.

My design:

Empty view
1/2 filled view
Filled view
Page view

The "before" design:

You can see the whole design and how things are connected here in Figma.