September 20, 2018

#2: Skepticism

After defeating the assailants behind the alley, I overlooked the guys. Robust men wearing same dark suits, armed with handguns.

(Anyway why these guys are attacking us?)

My boss has a lot of enemies. I need to find out where these guys are belonging. I caught one of the stunned guys and smashing his cheek.

Ungh ...

A man utter a groan and opens his eyelids. I pushed the gun on his forehead and started a slightly rough interview.

I'm sorry to bothering you right after woke up, but I have some questions.Where are you belonging? Who hired you?
"....."

The man hardened his face and pulls his mouth.

If you answer frankly I will not kill you, think about your life and your employer, which is important

The man chose "the latter". Instead of replying, he chewed something hidden in his teeth. I tried to open his mouth immediately, but it was late. The man looked straight at me with a smile, and he died.

When I lay down the dead body on the ground and stand up, I heard the voice from behind the alley.

......... the employer who can not disclose even though he abandon his life?

My boss stood behind me. Christopher Brandt. A gentle — looking longhaired guy wearing glasses on an intelligent face.

You have saved me again. Jack

Brandt looked down at the dead man and had a sad face. I walked towards the other stunned guy.

Wait Jack, they will make the same choice, You don't need to do anymore.
But they tried to kill you.
Even if so, There is no life that can be lost.

I shrugged my shoulders. It is his humanitarianism. I think it is over-optimistic, but it can do nothing because it is his way of life. I heard a police car siren in the distance. The police came running after hearing the gunshot.

Let's go, Brandt. We should leave immediately.
Unavoidable, let's leave them to the police.

I left the alley with Brandt to say so. I went to the main street and picked up a taxi.

To the airport

The taxi driver made a dubious face.

At this time, masters? There is no flight anymore
Please just go. Hurry up

On the way to the airport, a police car came but they never stopped us.

We have prepared a charter flight. Around 15 hours to America, please take a rest during a flight.
You too, Jack, you used too much 'power' in this country

Brandt said so with smile and began to sleep quietly. Christopher Brandt. He is not only a member of Resistance but also a genius scientist who fly around the world. It was my job to protect his life.