September 15, 2018

#2: Makoto's turnover

After I finished showing "ability to read the memory of an object", I bowed executives and left the meeting room. A man who was waiting in the hall spoke to me.

Yo, congratulations, Makoto, now you are a police staff, aren't you?

It was Inspector Furuta, who is familiar with me. It seems that he was listening all conversation in the conference room through the door.

"I'm not exactly a staff. I was told that I'm a special agent who belongs to the police force."

Are you complaining that you were not officially hired?
No... I'm just worried that my salary will be low

Inspector Furuta smiled wryly.

Now, now, Don't say that. It is not so easy to be hired as an official staff
Yeah, I understand it. But ...
Now, at least you can earn by the right means, compare to 'previous work'.

He said so with a nasty face. He hitted the nail on the head. I couldn't say anything.


Inspector Furuta and I have known each other for a few years. I earned a my living by being a freelance cracker at that time. A cracker is a kind of cybercriminal who pierces holes in digital security and steal information. People call it "hacker". I invaded the server of a prestigious university, stole a list of graduate names, and sold it to a list broker. I stole the development data of new products from the server of the company, and sold it to rival companies ...... It wasn't a job of which I'm proud of.

After graduating from a college, I couldn't get a job at a company. Then I started that job. It is not because my cracking skill was excellent.

However, I could read the memory by touching any PC or server, and could get passwords etc. I just couldn't find any other job that I could make use of this ability. I was afraid of people. I didn't want to engage with people.

Because I don't have much courage, I cannot do a big crime. I just did some minor job to pick up a bit of money to get bare necessities. However, the world is less forgiving enough to make the rest of my living by doing that. One time, I sneaked into a town factory to steal passwords and I was caught by the detective in the local police. That was Inspector Furuta.

In the questioning, the inspector harshly chewed me out. Because I stole nothing at that time, he just scolded me. However, it seems that I was marked by him. He caught me frequently during the six years my cracker's career. At the last time, when I was caught, I carelessly talked about my "powers".

The inspector also naturally did not believe "the power". When I demonstrated the ability reluctantly, he got really engrossed. I don't know why I did such a thing? But I regret it now.

The inspector who recognizing my ability said that I have to use the ability to the police investigation.

Even though he said that to me, I can't behave correctly as a police officer. I don't want bo be a police's servant going so far as to betray the cracker's group.The inspector proposed the condition for exchange to me who is about to refuse.

If you accept this proposal, we will overlook your criminal record. But if you refuse, I will pursue your other crimes and put you in prison.

His That eye were serious. I got cold feet and accepted his proposal.


That is why the inspector worked to get me into the police. He introduced me to executives.... and here I am. In a sense, he is a benefactor. But I don't like his rough manner. I wasn't sure whether he understood my thought. He didn't hesitate to tell me.

Well, today I finished my job. Shall we go to drink to celebrate your new job?
Oh, no, I'm sorry...... I have some plans for today......
Why are you being so aloof? Haha. Anyway, I will contact you when a case happens. Until then, brush up your "ability.

I returned an ambiguous smile to Inspector Furuta. I left there.


For giving English translation I again say thank you to the agent @MailEater