February 8, 2021

My computer's adventures.

I bought the first Apple computer in 2009. It was an iMac. Since the time it works like clockwork without any troubles. Nowadays in 2021 after almost 12 years it doesn't lose its relevance.

I did some upgrades to increase his features. Once I bought it I add RAM memory to its maximum in 16 Gb.

A few years ago I change the DVD-ROM to an SSD drive to speed up my computer. After that, he has two hard drives - one big for data and fast SSD as the bootable drive to high speed working of the operational system and apps.

Three years ago the video board of the iMac burnt. At first, I wanted to change it to a new one, but it cost was too expensive, and a master offered me to change just the chip on the video board. It was cheaper almost three times. I agreed and my computer was repaired for two days.

After one year the video board burnt again. I called the same repair service and this time they resoldered a new chip again.

The last time my video board has burnt again after 1.5 years a week ago. To this time I found a new excellent repair service where I fixed a lot of my Apple devices. It locates more comfortably than the previous one, and their level of service and knowledge is liked me more.

The master told me he can insert a new video card in my computer for a lesser cost than the previous repair service that was fixing my chip in the old card by resoldering it. I agreed and after two days took my computer home. Besides, they for free changed one of the computer fans which worked unstable, and which one could be the cause of card burning.
It worked perfectly, but not long. After two hours he started freezing. I called service and they asked to get the computer to them. They found the cause of the freezing - it was the defect of the new video card's temperature sensors. They promised to buy a new video card and change it as soon as possible. And after they would test the computer's work for a day and ship it to my home if everything would OK.

.