October 24, 2022

"Kiss me, you fool" What does it mean?

I have stumbled this idoma a lot of times. For the first time it was in the cartoon show "Phineas and Ferb". Then it was in "Friends" and other movies and TV shows.

The last time I heard these words in "The Big Bang Theory" yesterday. And I began to wonder what does it mean? Actually I understand the meaning, but I would like to know where is the root from?

I have found the answer only on the 18th page of yandex! Can you believe it?! There are a lot of pages with this phrase, postcards, ideas for lovers, pictures with kissing peoples, song's lyrics and strange fanfiction and ... nothing about the origin of these words! And, as I say, the answer was found only on the eighth page when I saw the link to the SFGate portal.

It all began even in 1915 in the black-and-white silent movie "A Fool There Was." The movie is an adaptation of the poem by Rudyard Kipling. So I can say that catchphrase was write by this big writer! But there was nothing without a really famous film.

In 1915, millions of Americans went to see Theda Bara as a deadly vamp in the silent film "A Fool There Was." In an intertitle she told her hapless slave, "Kiss me, my fool!," which was immediately adapted as "Kiss me, you fool!" and said by millions of women to their husbands and boyfriends.

https://www.sfgate.com/movies/article/Best-movie-lines-deserve-an-Oscar-2477864.php#photo-2039921

So the case is closed. Now I know more about foreign culture than before.