May 26, 2021

Lesson 76. Revision.

Warm-up

A. Choose the correct option

1.You ………………………………… so much yesterday.

a) would rather I didn’t drink b) had better haven’t drunk

c) would rather drunk d) had better not drink

2. ‘Are the children sleepy?’ ‘Yes, they ………………………………………... to bed.

a) would rather went b) have rather go

c) had better go d) would rather have gone

3. You’d better …………………………………. talk to that man.

a) not to talk b) don’t talk

c) not talk d) didn’t talk

4. She’d rather ……………………………… than go to university.

a) work b) worked

c) to work d) have worked

5. I’d rather you ………………………... than went to university.

a) work b) to work

c) worked d) working

I’d rather you ………………………………… alone. It was a mistake.

a) lived b) live

c) have lived d) had lived

B. Fill in rather or better

  1. We’d ____ stay inside until the rain stops.
  2. You’d ____ leave before it gets dark.
  3. I’d ____ you didn’t wear jeans in the office.
  4. I’d ____ stay hungry than have to eat that fish.
  5. You’d ____ not phone her now. She’s probably putting her baby to bed.
  6. You’d ____ stay in bed today. You look pale.
  7. I’d ____ send an e-mail than write a letter.
  8. You’d ____ watch the steps.
  9. Can I borrow your camera? – I’d ____ you didn’t.
  10. He’d ____ give up smoking as soon as possible.

Fun Pause

https://kubik.nurk.ru/

Dictation

https://www.englishclub.com/listening/dictations-m-media.htm

Acronyms and abbreviations

Homework

Task 1. Rewrite the second sentence in each conversation, starting with I’d rather we/you/…

“You’d better phone Judy”. “No, you phone her”. I’d rather you phoned her.
“Let’s talk things over”. “No, let’s talk tomorrow”.
“Shall I come at nine?” “Ten would be better”.
“I’ll phone Sue”. “No, don’t”.
“Can she work with you?” “Why doesn’t she work with Maggie?”
“I’ll cook tomorrow”. “Tonight would be better”.
“Ask that policeman”. “You ask him”.
“Mark wants to go out”. “I’d prefer him to stay in”.
“Can they use our sheets?” “It would be more convenient if they brought their own”.
“The government wants to cut taxes”. “It would be better if they did something about the homeless”.

Task 2.